1 – Log in to your Facebook account, then click on your name at the top of the window to display your Timeline page.
2 – Click the Friends link to display your friends list.
3 – Scroll down through your friends list and look for any friends who don’t have a profile picture (the photo will be Facebook’s default gray avatar image) AND don’t have their number of friends displayed.
4 – The absence of a profile picture AND friends total indicates that the account has been deactivated. You can delete this “ghost friend” by clicking on the Friends button and then clicking Unfriend.
Important: The absence of a profile picture alone doesn’t indicate that an account has been deactivated.
If you still see the number of friend listed that means the account is still active. Don’t unfriend an account unless it doesn’t have a profile picture AND there is no friends count listed.
5 – Continue scrolling through your friends list and repeat the steps listed above until all of your “ghost friends” have been removed.